Victory for local junior sailor!

Dana Point Yacht Club’s Carsen Lenthall finished first in the Sabot C3 class to win the perpetual Jessica Uniack Memorial Trophy for first place in the largest class. Team members Ryan Hublitz placed 2nd in Sabot C3, Jimmy Eiland placed  2nd for Laser and Lily Maranto placed 3rd for Sabot B.

The July 25th race had a huge turnout with 148 Sailors aged 7-16 competing in the annual Long Beach Yacht club hosted event.

This is one of the few  junior sailing events of the year where the eight-foot-long Sabots venture out on the open ocean starting from Shoreline Marina and ending in  Alamitos Bay.

Previous 1st place winners from DPYC include Sofia Maranto 2011 C3 and Lily Maranto 2012 C2.

Jessica Uniack was a avid  supporter of junior sailing who died tragically in 1994. The event began in 1988 and was renamed in her honor in 1995, with her husband and sons continuing her work in support of the event.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »