.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Traffic Solutions at Hand

What the city is already doing to unclog the streets around town.

By Larry Kramer

I just read some information in one of the McCarthy/Byrnes flyers about some things that they are going to do to improve traffic in the city, and it surprised me because positive action has alreadybeen taken by the City Council and City staff – someone did not do their homework.

The intersection at Rancho Viejo Road and Junipero Serra has already been reconfigured to facilitate smoother traffic flow. This $1.3 million dollar project required $24,000 for a problem noted after construction. The change cost less than 2 percent of the total cost, and was done in five days. We have taken the approach that if we see a problem we fix it.

Elimination of the “Ghost Train” is already being accomplished.This problem goes back many years and has become a significant concern since the safe crossings were installed. The City Council asked OCTA to study this; they did, and they proposed asolution, which the City Council accepted. OCTA is working on implementing that potential solution now.

A proposed off-ramp at Stonehill is already on the project list from OCTA’s ½-cent tax funds. It is still a long shot because there is no money currently earmarked for it.

The City Council has done some very positive work in the past few years. Give us some credit for taking action to benefit our residents.

Larry Kramer

Kramer is the mayor of San Juan Capistrano.

Lon Uso October 29, 2012 at 02:56 AM
Which means that they didn't use the park money to pay for it so you are wrong as well, but the difference is that you will never admit it
V. Duvall October 29, 2012 at 02:57 AM
Mr. Worthington, please don't lump me in with yourself. I don't agree with you on any of the points you usually make. I, too, think you complain about everything. Sometimes I think you are complaining just for the sake of complaining. It seems to me that once you decide you don't particularly like someone you attack everything they say, just for the sake of argument. You just seem very unhappy to me.
Lon Uso October 29, 2012 at 02:59 AM
Clint said concerning asking Lon to run on a slate : Lon, don't flatter yourself. It was less than a fifteen minute conversation. You don't live here anymore. You do not have any idea the ramifications of your voting record. I had to explain to you the traffic signal you voted for at the railroad crossing. You are held accountable for your voting record. Lon replied: Not a matter of flattery, a matter of fact, thanks for finally confirming it. The meeting was short because I said no. The question people have to ask themselves as you criticize my voting record is, did it change after you asked me to run with you? had I already voted for the Ranch, for the quiet zones and for everything else that you gripe about now? If we had run on a slate as you wanted, would you have defended my record? would you have justified my votes? would you have done everything in your power to defend me? would Kim have done all these things? the obvious and logical answer is yes!!! This makes your attacks on me and my record disingenuous and BS. I knew that I would have a problem supporting some of your hair brain ideas and was unwilling to change my message to accommodate yours. That, my friend, is integrity, a concept lost on you and your candidates. To all of you that think that I have been harsh, understand who you are supporting, they are opportunists who care more about winning than honesty and ethics!!!!
Lon Uso October 29, 2012 at 03:01 AM
Clint, you give a weird impression of someone happy to live where they do
Clint Worthington October 29, 2012 at 03:02 AM
V Duval, I respect what you say and I am sorry that you feel that way.
Jett October 30, 2012 at 05:04 PM
Why doesn't our city get more proactive with san clemente city to get this funded?
Lon Uso October 30, 2012 at 08:18 PM
Don't worry Clint, you don't impress me. you worry me, you scare me, but you certainly don't impress me.
Nom de Plume October 31, 2012 at 12:15 AM
Mr Worthington, I don't know whether to prescribe tranquilizers or psychiatric therapy for your high-energy negativity. If you can't afford either of these, please try consuming less coffee! Dr SJC
Lon Uso October 31, 2012 at 01:07 AM
Nom, I always suspected that he was doing a little too much secret sauce
Lon Uso October 31, 2012 at 02:29 AM
I can no longer understand your comments, must be the secret sauce. Can anyone decipher this nonsense?
Lon Uso October 31, 2012 at 04:05 AM
I can decipher that clearly, I have been critical of Sam on this issue. Yet he and his supporters haven't attacked me on issues that you and your cronies have, knowing them to be false, just like the union. Clearly even though I disagree with Sam on many issues he has shown a lot of class
Lon Uso November 01, 2012 at 12:36 AM
Talk about the pot calling the kettle black!!!1 I came into this forum being critical of Sam as well as your puppet masters. Your and your cabal's incessant attacks on me and the fact that Sam and his supporters accepted my opinions with grace have convinced me that I would much rather see him re-elected than your insane, koolaid drinking candidates. I never thought I would say it but, Sam, I wish you all the luck in the world. those nuts don't deserve to be elected
M. Johnson November 02, 2012 at 12:45 AM
Lon, Clint Worthington's two candidates, McCarty & Byrnes, are running a negative campaign, putting out hit pieces full of misinformation on Sam and Ginny. Apparently they realize that's the only way they will get votes (from the uninformed voters who believe their BS). I sure hope the voters of SJC, instead of just believing the maligners, will take the time to study their choices well before they go out and vote! Actually, I haven't heard one response from either Kim or Roy as to what they would really do to solve the so called "problems" they have fabricated to make their opposition look bad. During the candidate forum, Kim wanted to buy water from Moulton? in order to keep water rates cheaper....is she talking of recycled water from their treatment plant? And she actually said so on four different occasion (not just a slip of the tongue, I would say). She also mentioned that the Marriott Hotel in SJC (a great revenue to the City as well as a provider of jobs), only employs people from other countries? I'd like to know how she got this information....could we qualify her as racist? How would that set with the multiethnic population of our City? Sam Allevatto and Ginny Kerr have shown themselves as well informed, ethical and classy candidates to our city council. I say VOTE SAM ALLEVATTO AND GINNY KERR FOR SAN JUAN CAPISTRANO CITY COUNCIL!
4 square November 02, 2012 at 12:51 AM
what do you gentlemen think about this? http://sanjuancapistrano.patch.com/articles/pac-pours-9-500-into-city-council-race
M. Johnson November 02, 2012 at 12:58 AM
Clint Worthington, Why are you maligning Mark Nielsen during this campaign? He’s not running for city council. Mr. Nielsen was a good Councilman and Mayor during his tenure. It is not easy to be an elected official; you must represent all your residents, not just the people who elected you or special interest groups. In that, I would say Mr. Nielsen’s record was impeccable. He is a very smart man and a savvy businessman, I’m sure his decisions were always made with the mindset that he was doing the best for his City. He has now gone on to live his life beyond City Council. He has a beautiful wife, two adorable children, a good job and a beautiful home. Leave him alone! I do wish he would still be one of our city council members, as I know he would be doing good and participating in all phases of being a councilman!
Whiskey Bent November 02, 2012 at 01:01 AM
I haven’t seen any hit pieces from McCarthy and Byrnes. Is this Mike Johnson?
Whiskey Bent November 02, 2012 at 01:06 AM
I’ve been wondering why Volzke has been so nasty. Now it’s starting to make sense.
Clint Worthington November 02, 2012 at 02:35 AM
M Johnson, I agree with you that Mark Nielsen is a smart man. However, he continually voted to sell bonds raising the Cities debt. In fact, the Cities debt was increased so much under Mr. Nielsen that the credit rating agencies lowered the credit rating for the City because the City was under so much debt. I am sure you have heard about the Phantom Bond for the water infrastructure improvements for the City. Again, the City could not even issue the bond that Nielsen voted for, for infrastructure improvements because the Cities financials were so upside down. This is now the subject of a lawsuit for collecting principal and interest payments from the rate payers for a bond that was never issued. Mr. Nielsen also voted for the traffic signal at the Del Obispo railroad crossing. I warned Mr. Nielsen many times at the City Council meetings that the City could not afford the liability insurance for the Quiet Zone rairoad crossings. The Quiet Zone construction has been finished for over a year now, but cannot become a Quiet Zone until the City has liability insurance to protect the railroad which so far it has been unable to do. That is 9.2 million dollars in wasted taxpayer money for the Quiet Zone. I am sure that Mark Nielsens wife, children and home are all very nice. But, that does not make him a good City Council member.
V. Duvall November 03, 2012 at 02:41 AM
M. Johnson, I would not personally call anyone a racist, however I have read things that Ms. McCarthy has written to the local papers in the past that surely make her sound like one. I guess you didn't read those. I was embarrassed that she said those things publicly. She was horrible to the hispanic residents here in San Juan. Sure, everyone is entitled to their opinion but those scathing letters to the papers were, indeed, racist.
Lon Uso November 03, 2012 at 02:35 PM
She has certainly written some things that sound racist although they are populist things that many think but don't have the bad sense to write down and it is that inherent lack of common sense that bothers me. She resents the Mexican kids in school because she says they diminish the educational opportunities for the rest. Her solution is to keep them out of our schools but she does not see the law enforcement nightmare that having these kids on the streets would cause. She wants to get rid of illegal immigrants by using our Sheriffs to scour the barrios without thinking of the resulting lack of communication from those residents and law enforcement concerning violent crimes in those neighborhoods. It's not that most of us don't agree that these problems exist, it's that her solutions are ideological and dangerous. It is ironic that she is running under the banner of "common sense" when she so completely lacks it.
Lon Uso November 03, 2012 at 03:12 PM
I am baffled now that both Clint and Kim (she who has no last name) have now denied having any direct involvement with Kim and Roy's campaign. It also surprises me how they used very similar language in their denial. Does anyone else believe that they are both part of a coordinated effort to elect their candidates? I am not saying that there is anything wrong with that but their denial seems a bit silly. I can't imagine what it might accomplish yet it will affect their credibility. Oh, well
Lon Uso November 03, 2012 at 03:25 PM
What are all of these bonds? The only bond that was funded during Marks tenure was the Open Space Bond which was voted on by the residents. I keep hearing about this phantom water bond that my Council did not vote on. Smoke and mirrors!!!!
Lon Uso November 03, 2012 at 07:22 PM
I just went through this one thread and have a list of issues that you have discussed: Heart attacks Jonathan's employment MTBE The lemon grove and DDT Jack in the Box secret sauce Mark's FPPC compliance Fire Fighters Union The election 6 years ago Sam's campaign funding Open space and other phantom bonds And you are telling me to stay on subject? what gall!! but then rules apply to others not to you and your candidates, right?
Lon Uso November 03, 2012 at 08:22 PM
Clint you obviously have no understanding of the process for the City to float a bond or in fact the meaning of a bond. At the meeting of 2 / 2010 the City Council voted to increase water rates not to approve the floating of a bond. So let me ad, smoke, mirrors and ignorance.
Lon Uso November 03, 2012 at 08:24 PM
And what does "responding to YOUR issues" mean? your comment makes no sense
Lon Uso November 03, 2012 at 09:49 PM
Be honest Clint, you have no idea what you are talking about, you are over your head. First of all, I have expressed pride in my having the guts to raise rates to save the water and sewer enterprise. You have been blathering about a phantom bond. There was no bond proposed during this meeting. In fact, If I remember, this was allowing staff to initiate the 218 process for an MTBE surcharge which we cancelled after coming to a settlement with Chevron. This increase was not supposed to be implemented. I have no idea what lawsuit you are talking about. are you suing the City, nice!!!!
Lon Uso November 05, 2012 at 01:52 AM
Again, I have no idea what lawsuit you are talking about nor did the Council approve a bond.
Lon Uso November 05, 2012 at 01:54 AM
Really, I thought you were voting for Sam!!!!
Clint Worthington November 05, 2012 at 02:50 AM
Lon, at 8:13 am Saturday, you stated that I "am denying any direct involvement in the campaign". That is what the comment is referring to in that thread. I am so sorry that I have to continue to explain these things to you.
Lon Uso November 05, 2012 at 08:46 PM
You are talking about that silly lawsuit concerning the tiered rates, what does that have to do with bonds? What does it have to do with an MTBE surcharge that was rescinded?

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »