.
News Alert
Jury Hangs in Case of Driver Accused of Killing…

State to Investigate Complaint Against Two Political Activist Groups

The complaint involves City Council candidates Roy Byrnes and Kim McCarthy.

The Orange County Register is reporting that the California Fair Political Practices Commission will be investigating SJC lawyer Edmond Connor's complaint against two groups, Capistrano Common Sense and the Committee for Common Sense Solutions.

Connor believes that the groups are in violation of state and city laws regarding political action committees and campaign contributions pertaining to their support of City Council candidates Roy Byrnes and Kim McCarthy.

Click the above link to access the Register story, and click here to read Patch's September story when Connor originally filed his complaint.

Whiskey Bent November 03, 2012 at 07:05 PM
Don’t they have to investigate a complaint? Also am I the only person that finds it alarming that Tony Moiso had his lawyer send a threatening letter to a candidate and I presume a PAC in order to chill speech? Add the dishonest lobbyist Volzke and this whole thing stinks!
Clint Worthington November 03, 2012 at 08:10 PM
Penny, when I filed FPPC complaints against the City Council members, the FPPC sent me the exact same letter each time as they did Ed Conner. It is a form letter. Nothing more. Of course the must investigate a complaint before they can arrive at a conclusion . I welcome an investigation. Last night I sent copies of the same FPPC letters I received to both Rob Vardon at the OC Register and Brian Park at the Capistrano Dispatch asking them to please post a copy of Ed Conners letter and the copies of the two FPPC letters I received when I filed the FPPC complaints so people can see they are form letters. I will forward you the copies when I am back in town tomorrow. Presently, like you I am out of town and did not load those copies of the letters to my iPhone.
Thea November 04, 2012 at 04:27 PM
Calling Mr. Volzke dishonest, is dishonesty at its highest level. The political motivation of said groups is what stinks.
Whiskey Bent November 04, 2012 at 05:58 PM
Is Thea the greek goddess of deception or do you just not know who Volzke is?
Kim November 04, 2012 at 06:36 PM
PubliusSJC..you are so right. The smear campaign against Dr. Byrnes and Ms. McCarthy has backfired. Having their attorney file a sham FPPC complaint, and Jonathan Volzke's underhanded style of manipulating the press, proves how desperate they are. To put it in Ranch turms, it's simply hogwash.
shelly November 04, 2012 at 10:39 PM
Kim, Why is it a smear campaign? I think it is to question if the two organizations should be considered PACs.
Jonathan Volzke November 05, 2012 at 07:53 PM
No, Publius and Clint, they don't have to investigate. This article http://www.hbindependent.com/news/tn-hbi-1101-atlas-pac-investigation-20121031,0,7162999.story Quotes Winuk this way: The FPPC, which monitors campaign spending, received a complaint Tuesday, said the commission's chief of enforcement, Gary Winuk. "We're looking into it, and we'll make a decision within 14 days on whether or not to open an investigation," he said. So that clearly says they can decide not to investigate merely on the face of the complaint. Again, "Kim" you can say something as many times as you want; that doesn't make it true.
Clint Worthington November 05, 2012 at 08:08 PM
Jonathan, maybe you were reading too fast again. It is a form letter. In case you missed that part. The form letters contain the exact same wording each time.
shelly November 06, 2012 at 12:04 AM
Clint Worthington, Maybe you received a form letter for your complaints and nothing came of it because they found nothing. Let's see what happens here. Each complaint and case is different. If they find nothing then it will come out that they have found nothing but right now they are investigating it.
Jonathan Volzke November 06, 2012 at 12:22 AM
This article http://www.hbindependent.com/news/tn-hbi-1101-atlas-pac-investigation-20121031,0,7162999.story Quotes Winuk this way: The FPPC, which monitors campaign spending, received a complaint Tuesday, said the commission's chief of enforcement, Gary Winuk. "We're looking into it, and we'll make a decision within 14 days on whether or not to open an investigation," he said. So that clearly says they can decide not to investigate merely on the face of the complaint. Again, "Kim" you can say something as many times as you want; that doesn't make it true...and Clint and PSJC ... clearly, they can say no investigation is needed on the basis of a complaint. In this case, they saw enough to start the investigation. Get an attorney, CCS ...
Whiskey Bent November 06, 2012 at 02:37 AM
You're citing a Huntington Beach story. I understand your point but for people who don't hit the link they should know it has nothing to do with SJC. As a paid lobbyist do you get paid for every comment you make for Allevato/Kerr or against McCarthy/Byrnes?
Whiskey Bent November 06, 2012 at 02:38 AM
Volzke, As a paid lobbyist do you get paid for every comment you make for Allevato/Kerr or against McCarthy/Byrnes?
Clint Worthington November 06, 2012 at 02:44 AM
Shelly, yes I received the form letter, as the same form letter is sent to everyone who files a complaint. Yes, an investigation was made. Yes, the FPPC issued a warning letter to now Mayor Pro Tem John Taylor for violating conflict of interest laws. Here is the link to the FPPC website for the letter: http://www.fppc.ca.gov/enf_letter/05-29-12/ENF046.PDF So, in answering your question, yes, they do send out form letters and they do make a conclusion. In this case as the letter states, if Mr. Taylor violates the law again, the penalties can be up to $5,000.oo per violation.
Clint Worthington November 06, 2012 at 02:48 AM
Jonathan, hmmmm, if they decide not to investigate merely on the face of the complaint, then why does it take 14 days to make that decision? Just that logic, takes the wind right out of your statement.
shelly November 06, 2012 at 05:35 AM
Clint Worthington, So even though they sent you a "form letter" they investigated what you wanted investigated and came to a conclusion. So that is what is happening here. They are taking the complaint seriously enough to investigate it.
Jonathan Volzke November 06, 2012 at 06:52 AM
Pubs, I have faith in the people of SJC. They heard Clint say the complaint wasn't filed properly, apparently it was. They heard Clint say every complaint gets investigated, now they know that's not true, either. I know facts aren't too important in your comments here, but you know, of course, I'm not a paid lobbyist. Under county laws, lobbyists must register. I don't fall under that requirement. I do not get paid a cent. I am a volunteer, just as I am for many efforts in town -- things I do just to make San Juan Capistrano a better place. I've been here about 20 years and understand city governance pretty well, so I put my efforts behind the two candidates most qualified for our City Council -- Sam Allevato and Ginny Kerr. It has become amusing, of course, to listen to you all say how irrelevant I've become, then spend so much time either anonymously insulting me or crafting wild theories (and wildly inaccurate) about why we disagree. Quite a compliment, really. You all spend much more time thinking about me than I do about you.
Jonathan Volzke November 06, 2012 at 07:01 AM
Clint -- does your argument really make sense to you? Really?
Clint Worthington November 06, 2012 at 02:37 PM
Jonathan, here is the link to filing a FPPC complaint: http://www.fppc.ca.gov/index.php?id=498 The regulations require that the complaint be under penalty of perjury and other items. The letter from Ed Conner (who also contributed to Ginny Kerr's campaign) did not address all of those items. I did what was right and explained to you that the complaint was not filed properly. I could have said nothing. Every complaint that is filed properly does get investigated Jonathan. Without an investigation, how can you arrive at a conclusion? You quoted where it takes 14 days to get a decision. Again, I am supplying the link for people to read what I have said and using your quotes. You are a paid lobbyist. You represent SDG&E. It is important for you to have Ginny Kerr elected. As a lobbyist you also represent OCTA, and the Toll Roads. Of course it is important for you to get Allevato elected. Of course you do not get paid directly, but you are a paid by Faubel. Hmmm. Your employer Faubel, is on the Orange County Taxpayers Assoc which sent out pieces against McCarthy/Byrnes. Wait, SDGE, Poseiden Resources, Rancho Mission Viejo are also on there. Here is the link: http://octax.org/cat1sub1.php Jonathan, we have Connected the Dots. If you think that these theories are wild, the hard evidence and truth shows quite differently. You are a lobbyist. This is what you do for a living. I am just a resident who cares for our City.
Clint Worthington November 06, 2012 at 02:41 PM
Jonathan, you are a paid lobbyist ! I am just a resident who cares for our City

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »